top of page

See you again!

My journey in Jici continued as we labored at different tasks. We would be cutting more bamboo, but at a different location with Ah-i (aunty). Once we arrived, I was glad to see bamboo once again. I was in charge of slicing off the branches of the bamboo as taught by Emas previously. It felt great to be doing something I knew how to do. Feeling quite confident, we were able to finish the job quickly with Ah-i cutting the bamboo and Zih Syuan delivering.

Now, you thought that was it, right? Well, the bamboo cutting continued with the next day, and I was placed in charge for cutting the bamboo. I am no professional bamboo cutter, but we still aimed to gather as much as possible.

Knowing the purpose of my labor helped me shrug off the mosquitoes and drove me to work harder. We were told that the bamboo would be used to build the Taluan (small hut for cooking purposes). As for the result we were able to gather the largest pile by ourselves. This made us feel very accomplished, as Emas also told us that we did a good job. There's that feeling, when your boss compliments your work, you feel like your on the top of the world!

We FINALLY began the rebuild, taking out the roof, cutting old wires and wood, we began to add the sides of the Taluan through the Aboriginal method, weaving the bamboo, through and through each other.

Although I wasn't able to help finish the Taluan, the others did and it turned out beautifully.

At this point, you are probably wondering if I only did manual labor during my time in Hualien. Worry not, as I also was taken to see beautiful scenery as well. I don't recall the name of the place, but the vast rocky land form gives you a beautiful view and is the perfect place for some pictures.

I was able to get a candid shot of a lady who was enjoying the view. Technically, speaking, it is a public location, so I thought it not necessary to ask.

But it seems like she noticed, so I sent her a copy too!

I've got my friends Julia and Miyoung to thank for their patience. I sure took a while taking pictures. I would always fall behind and I would keep them waiting as I wanted to capture it all.

Dashibi Mountain

In the Jici tribe region, there is Dashibi Mountain. This place is most likely the highlight for beautiful nature. There is a path for tourists with stairs, but to witness the true natural beauty untouched by tourists with no garbage, you will need to talk to Emas and Hatila for that experience. After some off-road hiking, you reach the top and as someone who experienced both the tourist friendly hike trail, let me tell you this. It does not compare. I was able to go to the Dashibi Mountain twice, once before the day of the typhoon and another with the new working travelers. The experience before the day of the typhoon was slightly scary, as there was quite a lot of wind, and standing straight on a mountain ledge with strong wind is not the best feeling. Anyway, the second time was much more relaxing, with minimal wind, and with a clear view of the sunrise. The pictures do more justice on the beauty.

Jici Beach

You know you're near Hatila when you pass the large sign that reads Jici Beach.

Tourists looking to get surfing lessons and cool down, use the facilities of the beach. Hatila partners with Logan Surf School, so I was able to help Logan and his team when I had free time.

Quite weird isn't it, someone that has never surfed before trying to teach others to surf..

Taking the opportunity, I decided to learn how to surf as well. Unfortunately, during my one month stay in Hualien I was only able to "surf" three or four times, due to our busy schedule. I can't really say I went "surfing", as it was more like getting hit by waves and falling over most of the time. On my LAST DAY of surfing, I was finally able to catch a wave and stand (barely), then fall shortly after. I wish I could have done more, but the new experience itself was something I will remember.

Harvest Festivals

I was able to attend several harvest festivals of different tribes. Each tribe has their own rules for visitors and tourists alike. The harvest festivals I attended all were unique experiences. Although we weren't allowed to participate in the dancing, we were able to watch from outside. Another tribe didn't allow for video or photography. The latest two harvest festivals, I attended were much more open. One allowed us to join in their dancing and singing, which I had thought were not allowed, thus was a pleasant surprise. I've got to say that the dancing may look simple, but once you try, it's quite hard to remember all the steps.

The final harvest festival, we were allowed to eat alongside the tribe members. This was most likely possible because we were guests of Emas (we got special treatment!) and it seemed that as people entered, money was given as a gift inside a red envelope. This reminded me of weddings, as people give gifts and money as a way of saying thank you for the invitation.

The FOOD was so delicious! There was so much variety. Beginning with salmon sashimi, shien ju ro (salty pork), shrimp, chicken and soup, the list could go on and on. After we introduced ourselves to our table, we finished our meal. That lead to the introduction of other representing leaders of different regions. The leaders would make their way to the different tables and we would drink together.

There were two children at our table alongside with two teachers, so our table didn't drink alcohol. Instead we drank tea but we had run out. I wasn't going to participate in the "cheers", but my friend nudged me saying that we should still act like we are drinking to respect the elders that came to say hello. With the end of all the manual labor and photography moments, Hualien came to an end, as did my trip in Taiwan.

Thank you and Goodbye

I learned so much in my short time in Taiwan meeting different individuals that had goals to share the beauty of Taiwan. I will miss everyone I met in Taipei, Miaoli and Hualien and I will make sure to come back someday. I did say I will try to come back within the next five years, but who knows? Only time will tell... With that, I part with Taiwan to begin my studies once again in Canada.

Thanks for following me in my travel journal and big thanks to Redefine Tourism Mixer for providing this cultural learning experience.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
尚無標記。
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page