top of page

The bookstore with a tunnel swing

There are two best places in Lukang. This bookshop is one of them. I mean, for me. (Or anybody else who likes books, a good brewed coffee or have recently become hipster, Instagrammer or so. You know what I mean.) When you enter the store you could see a cozy small room with shelves filled with books obviously. Books in Chinese or Taiwanese, even more obvious.


But there was something between the lines about this shop. As I mentioned in the previous article, old house's front room served for business and the back one for living. So I didn't want to be rude and go to the second room until I was told It is not used for living anymore and I am free to go there. Another room is meant for chilling and reading. The owner of the bookstore used to study there in his college years. Japanese style raised floor with coffee tables, one with the old world map. I also showed them where is Slovakia located on this old map now. It took me a while, I needed to find where the Soviet Union ends first.

As soon as I thought that's it, we passed through the other room. I would call it THE TV room. :)

While moving forward I couldn't miss the well and the outdoor hall leading to the beautiful garden kitchen. You can get a drink or some small dishes made by the same bookshop keeper. Everything feels so much like home here!

Oh, and that wasn't over. In the garden first thing what I couldn't take eyes off was an installation of the sink instead of a bicycle seat.

And the other thing in category "Don't want to leave you" was a swing. But this swing was in 1 by 1 underground tunnel which was used in WW II for hiding. Now it's overgrown by plants , but you can still hide in

there. In case of any other private emergency . I so need it back home.

This place has everything within the historical maintained background. A real vintage. And me, lucky girl, got even luckier.

1 out of 10 English books I could find here. Boom. Ellen Degeneres. Seriously, I am not kidding.

This new bought book occurred to me as one day stand. (In fact, there is no picture of me without the book in this article). I have left them in the bookstore eventually. By them, I mean the book and "the really tempting to take home" tunnel swing.

In case you, my friend, would show up in Lukang and want to hide&swing&laugh all day!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
尚無標記。
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page